5 Comments

The arsenic laden wallpapers are one of the most intriguing things ever, I remember learning about it on Hidden killers of the Victorian Home documentary. You have created one of the most intriguing archive through your commonplacing series Freya!

That being said, someone who wishes to remain anonymous has just gifted me a full year’s subscription for your newsletter and I just wanted to thank them for their loving kindness here. 🙏

Days like this when I feel gratitude and love so deeply, is when I feel truly happy to be a human. Thank you Freya for creating this beautiful community where I feel like I belong.

Expand full comment
author

I love this and just learned that someone did that and how sweet that is. I want to comp you all who read it's so hard to want to be paid but not to want to give away my love to those who find something in my ramblings. ;) I love writer friends, they--you all--are truly the best. 💜

Expand full comment

💜🌼

Expand full comment

That poem! ❤️

Expand full comment
author

isn't it such a beauty!? I just love it. And it feels so modern, despite Hardy being of the victorians and criticized into poetry after Tess and Jude the Obscure were too shocking. Kind of fascinates me.

Expand full comment