11 Comments

I just ordered that book after someone recommended it to me. Looking forward to it!

Expand full comment

This is lovely. I have an Airbnb in the forest near the Blue Ridge mountains in western Virginia. It gets totally dark at night. Many people who stay there feel unexpected fear. One older man from DC messaged me at 2 AM terrified... of the night. Even when I stay there, though I’ve slept there thousands of times—sometimes I’m still very scared.

Expand full comment
author

no! wow that is fantastic!

Expand full comment

Ha! I just checked my mail and a copy of Beston's "The Outermost House" arrived. I wondered what compelled me to order it ... and here we are! 😂

Expand full comment

Please let us know how you read it -- it feels old and White and male to me, but perhaps that is the loud memory voice of my 18 year-old self, which was the last time I read it?

Published nature writing/writing of place has so long been the place of White men of privilege. I'm craving different perspectives.

Expand full comment

I'm craving those perspectives as well and have thought about it a lot lately. I don't need to read anymore white dudes finding whatever out in the wilderness. What I crave are nature writers who aren't white, as white women are probably the second most likely to get this kind of thing published ... which is fine, but still....

Expand full comment
author

totally. and i’m a white woman and don’t want to read the same kind of crap. ugh. history. why did they do all of this to us?

Expand full comment
author

I've had that sense too reading it, but there are aspects of it that are insightful...but yes, that whole sense of nature as object to be observed and detailed by white men is maddeningly pervasive. I've loved some of Robert Macfarlane's works, but not all, specifically because of what Kathleen Jamie writes about here: https://www.lrb.co.uk/the-paper/v30/n05/kathleen-jamie/a-lone-enraptured-male?utm_source=pocket_mylist

Still, Mountains of the Mind was a book I loved because it called out some of that history when it comes to mountains... and Jamie falls into that trope of nature-as-object-viewed-at-a-distance sometimes as well.... I'm reading May Sarton this week about her retreat to solitude--curious to see how the two (Sarton & Beston) compare, written at roughly similar times....

Expand full comment
Oct 5, 2022·edited Oct 5, 2022Liked by Freya Rohn

I really liked that Kathleen Jamie piece. My little group of science/creative nonfiction writer friends and I have talked about it a lot, including the seeming impossibility of many to not see nature-as-object rather than the interconnectedness.

Expand full comment

I pulled out Journal of a Solitude (1973) last night.

I am struck by Sarton's internal-ness. Yes, she notes the natural world, but it is in service to illuminating herself and her relational world. (Also I am shocked that anyone was surprised at the biography that stated she was a mean person; she says it herself within the first 30 pages!)

I don't feel the imprint of man or ownership or objectifying the world in Solitude -- I'm curious which Sarton you chose -- but I think that's because to me, just at the start where I am, it feels more home-makerly, more feminine than conquering male-y.

And I want to thank you!! I have always loved writers-of-place but I haven't pulled out my old New England friends in decades. I am anticipating a cozy winter of exploring and expanding from the modernists, Old & White.

Expand full comment
author

So interesting, I love this--and yes! I started her Journal of Solitude and had the same exact feelings--so internal and ruminative, and also much about her relationships with others, her friend's death, her anger, her internal reality and deep need for it. The way she talks about the flowers she brings into the house. So so different than the observer approach of Beston and other writers of solitude and observations of 'outside'... and her meanness too! Fascinating--and I'm so glad that you find joy revisiting them, I love finding fellow readers of the same books!

Expand full comment