6 Comments

I’m halfway through Arctic Dreams by Barry Lopez, which had me well prepared to read the meditation on cold. Thanks for sharing.

Expand full comment
author

It’s a classic isn’t it? Glad you enjoyed reading!

Expand full comment

Soundless chambers terrify me because my tinnitus is so bad.

Also, the meditation on cold is fantastic.

Expand full comment
author

ha, well, yes that would take away the experience for me as well--

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2022Liked by Freya Rohn

What fascinating topics for exploration. First the woman’s name like saying Eadburg was here and that chamber of no sounds. Several times in an echocardiogram I have heard the sloshing of my blood and gurgling is the word that comes. At first startling but then comforting as it repeated over and over. Thank you for such interesting reads on a wild and windy night on the coast of Maine.

Expand full comment
author

how fascinating that you experienced that sound and it lapsing into being a comfort. i love that--and love to think of you reading this on a wild evening in coastal Maine. 💜

Expand full comment